How to Do Your Hair Like a Heian Lady

Just stop cutting it. That’s it. Don’t cut it. Ladies in the Heian era did not cut their hair at all. The epitome of beauty was a waterfall of long, straight, shiny black hair. You may not be able to have hair that’s black, straight, or shiny, but you can have obscenely long hair and wear it parted in the middle. After all, why compromise your crowning glory to join the modern trend of frequent salon visits? Say no, and be a step closer to joining the Heian aristocracy.
4 Comments

Filed under beauty, hair

4 responses to “How to Do Your Hair Like a Heian Lady

  1. Peko-P

    I cannot articulate fully how happy I am to see that Sei Shonagon is FINALLY blogging!

    And what a wonderful theme you blog about!

    I am in a bit of a hurry but I will be back to read more. This looks like one of the great blogs I have encountered.

    “We need you to lead us!”

  2. Peko-P

    OK, so I noticed that gals of the current era have a difficult time growing their hair out. It seems that a bit above waist length hair naturally breaks or falls out. You Heian era gals seem, from paintings of the time, to have been able to grown your hair out well past this length. What is the secret of your era?

  3. Pingback: Niche Blogs « Quirky Japan Blog

  4. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll
    settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this
    website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

